James Donald Higgs

b. 11-Jul-1950

In 1972, after completing his University studies Jim Higgs made the Richmond Cricket Club his home and his determined efforts to see the club prosper are as evident today as they were 37 years ago.

Jim’s right arm leg spin bowling for the University Cricket Club had already taken 132 of his 338 District wickets and he had previously represented Victoria when he joined the Tigers. The powers at Punt Road knew that his classic spin bowling could help the club win the flag that had eluded them since 1946-47.

He played 89 games for Richmond and took 206 wickets winning 3 Bowling Awards. In a game against Northcote in 1973-74 he produced his best effort for the Tigers taking 8 for 19. His 5 for 90 in the 1976-77 final went a long way in securing the club’s 30 year drought breaking Premiership and he was in his second year as captain of the Tigers when they won the 1982-83 flag.

Jim Higgs is the highest wicket taking leg spin bowler in Victoria’s first class history, his 264 wickets in 83 games places him in the top 10 Victorian bowlers of all time. All up he took 399 first class wickets with 19 five-wicket and 3 ten-wicket hauls, his best being 8 for 66. It is widely recognised that Jim’s 5 for 9 off 36 deliveries in Victoria’s defeat of South Australia in the final Sheffield Shield game of 1979-1980 won the title for his state that season.

He made his National debut in 1978, making him Australia’s 295th and Richmond’s 10th Test representative. He toured England, India and the West Indies with Australian teams, playing in 22 Test Matches with a return of 66 Test wickets. In retirement from the active part of the sport, he spent several years as a Victorian and Australian selector.

Jim has done it all for Richmond, Victoria and Australia. He was a Test and State player, Test and State Selector, Richmond first eleven Premiership Captain, President 1994-1997, V.C.A. Delegate 1993- on going, and is currently a member of Cricket Victoria’s Board of Management.

He was awarded Life Membership of the Richmond Cricket Club in 1979, selected in the Team of the Century and in 2009 inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame.